Fort Worth TX.jpg

TEXAS DOMESTIC VIOLENCE LAWYER

If you've been accused of domestic violence, call the Sparks Law Firm. An experienced attorney may be able to help you avoid conviction & extreme penalties.

AP logo.png
Yahoo-News-Logo-Press.png
reuters logo.png
CBS-Logo.png
telemundo logo.png

WHAT IS CONSIDERED DOMESTIC VIOLENCE?

Domestic violence (also known as Assault – Family Violence) is a serious charge. It occurs when a disagreement leads to physical harm, threats, fear of physical harm, or unwanted physical contact. In order to prove domestic violence, the prosecutor must show that you intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly caused bodily injury, threatened imminent bodily injury, impeded the normal breathing by choking, or caused provocative or offensive physical contact to a spouse, family member, or intimate partner.

In Tarrant County, the County Criminal Court No. 5 was created exclusively to rule on family violence cases in Fort Worth every month.. The District Attorney’s office takes these cases very seriously and will proceed to trial even if the victim of an assault wants to drop charges. This means that even if your accuser cools down before the trial, you still need an attorney who is capable of taking your case to trial and exploring every avenue to obtain a “not guilty” verdict.

Domestic Violence Consequences

The consequences of a domestic violence conviction become more severe depending on the details of the case. The following are some outcomes you might expect with a conviction.

  1. If you purchase or possess of a firearm or ammunition, it becomes a felony offense under state and federal law. [Sec. 46.04(b), Texas Penal Code and 18 U.S.C. Section 922 (g)(9)]

  2. If charged with domestic violence a second time, it is immediately elevated to a third degree felony, punishable by up to 10 years in prison.

  3. You may lose custody of your children.

  4. Records of the criminal offense cannot be sealed or erased and may prevent you from gaining employment.

DEGREES OF CONVICTION:

  • Class A Misdemeanor - Assault causing bodily injury to a family member.

    • ​Punishable by up to one year in a county jail and a fine up to $4,000.

  • Third-Degree Felony - Cases involving choking that impedes the breath or where there has been a previous family violence assault conviction.

    • Punishable by a possible two to 10 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.

  • Second Degree Felony - Aggravated assault against a family member.

    • Punishable by a possible two to 20 years in prison and a fine up to $10,000.

  • First Degree Felony - Aggravated assault against a family member with a deadly weapon.

    • Punishable by a possible life prison sentence and a fine up to $10,000.

Justin was my lawyer for a case I had with Tarrant County. He was very responsive, professional, and helped us sooo much! I ended up having everything dismissed. Definitely highly recommend!

- Payton R.

I cannot say enough good things about this law firm! They took care of me and immediately started working my case. They knew exactly what to do as soon as I told them my story.

- Alana B.

CONTACT A FORT WORTH DOMESTIC VIOLENCE LAWYER

If a Fort Worth Police officer is called to your home for a domestic violence issue, the suspected perpetrator will be taken to jail immediately. Domestic violence offenses are treated more seriously than any other misdemeanor in the state of Texas. The penalties for repeat offenders are very serious. If you’re facing domestic violence charges in Fort Worth, call the Sparks Law Firm today.

Need A Texas Assault Lawyer?